Old St. Mary’s

This great photo is from the archives of Don Saxton and shows the old St. Mary’s church which was built in 1877. The wood structure stood where the current, brick St. Mary’s church is standing and was likely torn down around 1913. The current St. Mary’s church was completed and dedicated in November 1914.

IMG_20180317_0007

Below is a photo of St. Mary’s church that was in the Oxford, Iowa Centennial 1868-1968 book which I used to confirm that the photo above was indeed of the old Catholic church. That was a nice house next to the church – I wonder who used to live there.

IMG_20180216_0022

2 thoughts on “Old St. Mary’s

  1. I am really enjoying this site! And I wish Don Saxton was still here to see it.
    Also, does anyone know where St.
    Marys’ parishoners temporarily attended services or were they left to fend for themselves? 😰

    Like

    • Thanks Leanne! I’m glad you are enjoying the photos. I wish Don could have enjoyed it, too. I don’t know where the St. Mary’s parishoners held mass while they were building the new church, but if I find any info about that I will let you know.

      Like

Leave a comment